Category: Trains > Southern Pacific's Heavy Pacific Locomotives

Southern Pacific's Heavy Pacific Locomotives

Stock #: KB10974
Author: Terry M. Johnson
Publisher: Shade Tree Books
Pages: 118

List Price: $36.95
Karen's Price: $31.95

Continue Shopping

Southern Pacific's Heavy Pacific Locomotives - Introductory Offer!!

Covering Classes P-8, P-9, P-10, P-12, P-13 and P-14!

This is a serious locomotive book, not simply a photo album, in the tradition of Bob Church or Joe Strapac. Amply illustrated with detail photos, early-day roster shots, and lively action photography. Heavily researched and cross-checked. Author Terry Johnson begins his study with a discussion of Alco number 50,000—a 1912 demonstrator that pushed the envelope of modern passenger locomotive design. SP’s own heavy Pacific locomotives were part of the post-Harriman era, when SP spent millions replenishing and modernizing rolling stock worn out during World War I.

This book also addresses the former El Paso & Southwestern #3120-3129, which were added as coal burners in 1924 and continually refined to better fit them in with SP’s “home team.” A chapter is also devoted to the three smaller class P-6 locomotives rebuilt at Houston in 1937 to power the Texas & New Orleans’ streamliner Sunbeam and Hustler trains. They were fully modernized (as class P-14) in the face of dieselized competition between Houston and Dallas—on a shorter route. Class P-8, P-9 and P-10 heavy Pacifics were still powering Commute trains between San Jose and San Francisco as late as the summer of 1956—as illustrated by the dramatic, wrap-around Roger Cortani cover. This book is a major historical work at an affordable price, filled with large photos and numerous tables. Soft cover.

Search for more items by this author: Terry M. Johnson

Southern Pacific's Heavy Pacific Locomotives from Shade Tree Books

View More Specials » Check Out This Week's Specials!


View More Specials »

We Gladly Accept
Overseas Orders!
Click Here »

Sign Up For Our
WEEKLY SPECIALS!
Every week, our subscribers receive email alerts about our Newest Specials and Coming Soon Items. Enter your email address today and start SAVING at Karen’s Books!